The Darkness is my Cloak

Written in 2014 after seeing the incredible, mind-blowing, heart-wrenching goddess Helen McCrory as Medea at the National Theatre.


The darkness is my cloak

I wear no other

Vengeance burns inside me

Warms me

The tears, they fall

No longer cleansing

Scalding me though pain

Is welcome here in this

Abyss

With hellish depths I could not

Have foreseen

Wretchedness no man could know

A litany of lies, of promises

Broken, left to rot

Like me

But nothing further need I fear

No worse fate could befall

A woman dragged as low as

You have brought me

You give not of yourself

Yet take all that you can

Of my mind

My body

Your sweet words draw me in

And claw me back

I cannot run

But I am strong

I know myself

I know the goddess

Echoes in me

Hecate

She is all, she guides me

Takes me

Soothes me

Her faith in me

A golden coronet

The only crown I’ll wear

In this life

And the darkness is my cloak

I wear no other

Leave a Reply

