POSTCARDS: A lady with news! (100th post)

PC: I'll explain later

A rather charming little birthday card featuring a country scene and hand tinted flowers, and the following verse:
Sister mine by this I greet you/On this happy day/For every happiness and joy/That shall not pass away/In the years that follow after/Happy Birthdays may you see/Best and dearest of all sisters/Take this loving wish from me

PC: I'll explain later

But the most interesting thing about this card is, once again, the inscription on the back. Not the standard birthday greeting of:
Wish you a very happy birthday from your loving sister Nora xxxx
But the following line:
P.S. I am very sorry I cannot come tomorrow will explain later xxx

This lady definitely has something that’s important enough to miss her sister’s birthday celebration for; it reminds me a little of Lucy and Mina in Dracula – I can just imagine Nora telling her sister that she’d received a proposal (or three, like Lucy!) and that was why she couldn’t come.

Leave a Reply

