POSTCARDS: A Gertie Millar fan!

G. Millar

I’ve been a very bad deltiologist recently (like, in the last year), but I’ve been a very bad blogger in general. That’s not to say I’ve not been collecting, just that I’ve not been writing about them. So, now I’ve taken some photos of my updated collection, I’ll spam my blog with them for a few days, starting today.

As you can see, both are of the rather gorgeous Miss Gertie Millar (1879 – 1952), an Edwardian musical comedy star who began her career at age 13. A quick check through my eBay history tells me I bought these both from the same seller, which is good, otherwise the coincidence would royally freak me out – both are addressed to the wonderfully named P. J. Sloper Esq. (as I make it), two years apart – clearly he had a rather enduring love of the charming Miss Millar!

G. Millar

Here she is singing ‘Moonstruck‘ from Our Miss Gibbs.

Leave a Reply

